Conflicts can happen when a file or directory was modified from different locations.
- File Conflict
During file synchronization a file conflict occurs when a file has changed in both locations (source and target) since the last sync, making it difficult to determine which version should be left unchanged and which version should be updated.
EXAMPLE: if you've changed a document on your desktop computer since the last synchronization and also made a different change to the same document on your laptop, a file conflict will occur.
- Folder Conflict
A directory conflict is always a conflict where a directory has been deleted on one end, and changed on the other end. This change can be one of the following (or a combination): new file added, file changed, file properties changed.
How conflicts are handled
When a conflict arises, the Billtobox Files app will pop-up a conflict resolution window to help the user to decide upon the most suited resolution:
- Rename my version: this will create a copy of the conflict file, with a _NAME behind it.
- Keep my version: keeps your own version, overwriting the serverside version of that file.
- Keep their version: keeps the serverside version, overwriting the local version of that file.
- Temporary ignore: this will ignore the failed path until the client is restarted.
- Retry: this will retry the sync again.
Note: you can also resolve conflicts automatically, which will always use the local version